2013 Medal Winner

The One and Only IvanThe 2013 Newbery Medal winner is The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers

Ivan’s transformative emergence from the “Ape at Exit 8” to “The One
and Only Ivan, Mighty Silverback,” comes to life through the gorilla’s
own distinct narrative voice, which is filled with wry humor, deep
emotion and thought-provoking insights into the nature of friendship,
hope and humanity.

“Katherine Applegate gives readers a unique and unforgettable
gorilla’s-eye-view of the world that challenges the way we look at
animals and at ourselves,” said Newbery Medal Committee Chair Steven

2013 Honor Books

Splendors and Glooms

Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz, published by Candlewick Press

Lizzie Rose, Parsefall and Clara are caught in the clutches of a
wicked puppeteer and a powerful witch in this deliciously dark and
complex tale set in Dickensian England, where adventure and suspense are
interwoven into nuanced explorations of good versus evil.

Bomb: The Race to Build--and Steal--the World's Most Dangerous Weapon

Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin, published by Flash Point, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press.

Balancing intersecting
threads of scientific discovery, political intrigue and military
strategy, “Bomb” is a riveting historical nonfiction drama. Sheinkin’s
engaging narrative explores the complex series of events that led to the
creation of the ultimate weapon and introduces many memorable
personalities involved in the pursuit. 

Three Times Lucky
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage, published by Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group.
In the rich tradition
of Southern storytelling, rising sixth-grader Mo LoBeau leads the
eccentric residents of Tupelo Landing, North Carolina, on a rollicking
journey of mystery, adventure and small-town intrigue as she
investigates a murder and searches for her long-lost mother.

Members of the 2013 Newbery Medal Committee are:
Chair Steven Engelfried, Wilsonville (Ore.) Public Library; Blair
Christolon, Prince William (Va.) Public Library; Virginia Collier,
Roswell (Ga.) Library; Amber Creger, Arlington Heights (Ill.) Memorial
Library; Sheri L. Daun-Bedford, Woodridge (Ill.) Public Library; Roxanne
Feldman, The Dalton School, New York; Jos N. Holman, Tippecanoe County
Public Library, Lafayette, Ind.; Kate Houston, Multnomah County Library,
Portland, Ore.; Caroline M. Kienzle, Apalachicola, Fla.; Amy A.
McClure, Ohio Wesleyan University, Delaware, Ohio; Eva Mitnick, Los
Angeles Public Library; Elizabeth Moreau, Anchorage (Alaska) Public
Library; Susannah Richards, Eastern Connecticut State University,
Willimantic, Conn.; Barbara Scotto, Children’s Literature New England,
Brookline, Mass.; and Marilyn Taniguchi, Beverly Hills (Calif.) Public