Arrowhead-libraryCharged with the responsibilities of fiscal oversight and policy-setting, the Governing Board of the Arrowhead Library System consists of thirteen representatives of the region’s citizens and member libraries. Public libraries, school libraries, academic libraries, and special libraries each elect one member for a total of four local trustees to the ALS Board. The Board of Commissioners from each of the seven participating counties appoint a total of nine citizens to the ALS Board. As per Minnesota Statutes, terms of office are for three years, with a limit of three consecutive three-year terms. Terms start January 1 of a given year.

The ALS Governing Board has an Executive Committee consisting of the President, Secretary, and Chairs of the Budget and Personnel Committees. Officers are elected at the Annual Meeting in May of each year. Much of the work of the Governing Board is delegated to four standing committees: budget, executive, governance, and personnel.

The full ALS Governing Board meets the second Thursday of the month in February, April, June, August, October, and December. The ALS Executive Committee meets in March, May, September, and November. The Governing Board meetings start at 10:00 a.m. and are preceded by an Executive Committee meeting.


Patricia Brandstaetter Carlton County
Steven Daigle Itasca County
Garrison Hale St. Louis County
Lenore Johnson Lake County
Virginia Katz St. Louis County
Helen Muth Cook County
Crystal Phillips Public Libraries
Matt Rosendahl Academic Libraries
Ron Rudd Lake of the Woods County
John Schifsky St. Louis County
Lorri Shalley School Libraries
Jason Sjoblom Koochiching County
Christopher Welter Special Libraries

ALS Board History

On March 22, 1966, the first meeting of the Arrowhead Library System (ALS) Governing Board was held at the Hibbing Public Library. Present were representatives from Duluth, Virginia, Eveleth, International Falls, Ely, Cromwell, Cloquet, and Hibbing. At that meeting, Dorothy Karon of Virginia was elected as the first President of the ALS Board, with a term of office beginning on July 1, 1966.

Lenore Johnson President
Christopher Welter Secretary
Ron Rudd Budget Committee Chair
Crystal Phillips Personnel Committee Chair
Over the next fifty years, the ALS Board would have members from dozens of communities around the service area, and ALS would eventually grow to the present seven-county service area. Board meetings would be held in libraries, church basements, and hotel meeting rooms. When ALS eventually occupied the North Side Library in Virginia, board meetings were often held in the library basement. In 2002, ALS moved to a new building in Mountain Iron, which became the home for all ALS operations, including board meetings.

Standing Committees

  • Budget
  • Executive
  • Governance
  • Personnel

Page updated: 01/21/2021

Starting with Dorothy Karon in 1966, a number of capable individuals from many parts of the region have served as President of the ALS Governing Board and we would like to recognize them here:
1966 – 1977 Dorothy Karon (Virginia)
1977 – 1980 John Moriarity (Duluth)
1980 – 1982 Dorothy Petroskey (Virginia)
1982 – 1985 Gordon MacLean (Ely)
1985 – 1988 John Oren (Baudette)
1988 – 1989 Sarah Allard (Grand Marais)
1989 – 1992 Jeanne Gronquist (Cloquet)
1992 – 1995 Leonard Sobanja (Grnad Marais)
1995 – 1998 Isabelle Lean (Marble)
1998 – 2001 George Rogich (Makinen)
2001 – 2004 Dorothy Petroskey (Virginia)
2004 – 2007 Carol Hauck (Mahtowa)
2007 – 2010 Marjorie McPeak (Tower)
2010 – 2012 Eilzabeth Kelly (Twig)
2012 Lenore Johnson (Two Harbors)
2013 – 2015 Marhorie McPeak (Tower)
2016 Dennis Jerome (Grand Rapids)
2017 -2019 Marjorie McPeak (Tower)
2020 – Dennis Jerome (Grand Rapids)