On March 22, 1966, the first meeting of the Arrowhead Library System (ALS) Governing Board was held at the Hibbing Public Library. Present were representatives from Duluth, Virginia, Eveleth, International Falls, Ely, Cromwell, Cloquet, and Hibbing. At that meeting, Dorothy Karon of Virginia was elected as the first President of the ALS Board, with a term of office beginning on July 1, 1966.

Over the next fifty years, the ALS Board would have members from dozens of communities around the service area, and ALS would eventually grow to the present seven-county service area. Board meetings would be held in libraries, church basements, and hotel meeting rooms. When ALS eventually occupied the North Side Library in Virginia, board meetings were often held in the library basement. In 2002, ALS moved to a new building in Mountain Iron, which became the home for all ALS operations, including board meetings.

Starting with Dorothy Karon in 1966, a number of capable individuals from many parts of the region have served as President of the ALS Governing Board and we would like to recognize them here:

1966 – 1977     Dorothy Karon (Virginia)

1977 – 1980    John Moriarity (Duluth)

1980 – 1982    Dorothy Petroskey (Virginia)

1982 – 1985    Gordon MacLean (Ely)

1985 – 1988    John Oren (Baudette)

1988 – 1989    Sarah Allard (Grand Marais)

1989 – 1992    Jeanne Gronquist (Cloquet)

1992 – 1995    Leonard Sobanja (Grand Marais)

1995 – 1998    Isabelle Lean (Marble)

1998 – 2001    George Rogich (Makinen)

2001 – 2004    Dorothy Petroskey (Virginia)

2004 – 2007    Carol Hauck (Mahtowa)

2007 – 2010    Marjorie McPeak (Tower)

2010 – 2012     Elizabeth Kelly (Twig)

2012                 Lenore Johnson (Two Harbors)

2013 – 2015    Marjorie McPeak (Tower)

2016                 Dennis Jerome (Grand Rapids)

2017 – 2019    Marjorie McPeak (Tower)

2020                Dennis Jerome (Grand Rapids)