ALS receives donation from Minnesota Power

Katherine Rasley, Engineer I at Minnesota Power, was selected as a finalist for the 10th annual Don Shippar Community Leadership Award at the ALLETE Annual Meeting of Shareholders held on May 14, 2019. As a finalist, she was awarded the honor of selecting community nonprofits to receive a grant of $1000.

Rasley grew up in rural Deer River and relied on the Arrowhead Library System Bookmobile and Mail-A-Book program for library services. Later in life, she served as a Friend of the Hibbing Public Library and on the Hibbing Public Library Board of Directors.  It was that passion and experience that led her to select the Arrowhead Library System as one of the nonprofit organizations to receive a portion of the $1000 grant.

Funding will be used to support continuing education opportunities for all ALS member library staff and trustees. Receiving the check on Tuesday, July 9 at the Arrowhead Library System (ALS) headquarters located in Mountain Iron, (left to right) Jim Weikum, ALS Executive Director; Chris Magnusson, ALS Regional Librarian – Automation; Katherine Rasley, Minnesota Power; and Mollie Stanford, ALS Regional Librarian – Youth Services & Training.

Scroll to Top